KRob 2011: The 37th Annual Ken Roberts Memorial Delineation Competition.


The Ken Roberts is the most senior architectural drawing competition currently in operation anywhere in the world.
In the late 1920's, The Architectural League of New York established the first American competition for architectural drawings. It was named after Birch Long, one of their greatly talented and much-loved members who died while working on their 1927 exhibition. The "Birch Burdette Long Memorial Prize" was awarded annually until 1972, when it was discontinued for lack of interest in architectural illustration. It seems a remarkable coincidence, indeed that a new annual event in far-away Texas was initiated the following year by the Dallas Chapter of the AIA, and was subsequently named for the untimely death of a respected colleague.

This event preceded by two years the 1975 founding of the British Society of Architecture Illustrators (SAI), the first of several national organizations to follow. In 1980 the Japanese Architectural Renderers Association (JARA) was initiated, followed by the 1986 founding of The American Society of Architectural Perspectivists (ASAP) in Boston by Frank Constantino, Steve Rich and myself.

The NYSR in New York and the short-lived New Jersey Association were formed soon after ASAP. After the Koreans founded KAPA in 1990, the Australians became the "newest kid on the block" with their AAAI, which was organized [in 1995]. All this makes the Ken Roberts the most senior architectural drawing competition currently in operation anywhere in the world. - (article researched and written by Paul Stevenson Oles, FAIA)
General Eligibility All entries must be of an architectural nature, and must be authored by one individual.

Entries can be elevations, sections, or perspectives, and can be conceptual or final renderings. Exploration and innovation in unique techniques are encouraged. While there is no limit to the number of entries one can submit, submissions awarded in past Ken Roberts competitions are not eligible. Sketchbooks as a whole will not be accepted; a single, clearly marked page within the sketchbook may be entered.

Professional Eligibility
. Each entry must have been executed while entrant is a professional in architecture or in related fields (architectural illustrator, educator, engineer, cg animation). Due to the versatile nature of the architectural profession, it is not required for the entrant to be employed at the time submitting work for KRob. All work completed after graduation from a design program is considered professional.

Student Eligibility
. This category is open to individuals currently attending high school or pursuing a degree in architecture or design in the United States. It is also open to professionals who wish to submit work that was completed as a student at a design school before graduation. The work should Ihave been realized exclusively in an academic setting, and cannot be altered after graduation from the design program.

Entry Deadline
. All entries must be received by Friday, October 28, 2011 5pm CST. Awards Presentation, Wine Reception & Lecture Wednesday, November 16, 2011, 6:45 PM in Horchow Auditorium, Dallas Museum of Art Exhibition January (dates TBD) The Dallas Center for Architecture, 1909 Woodall Rogers Freeway, Suite 100 Dallas, TX 75201

Visit competition web site

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...